The Way…

I had never heard of Sarah’s story!

As I’ve grown up into a young woman, I have faced my fair share of challenges across the spectrum. With all these challenges and trials, I’ve found myself clawing at the dark ever so often and in my quest to center and focus, I came across, “Lost and Found, Finding HOPE in the Detours of Life,” by Sarah Jakes (now Sarah Jakes Roberts).

sjr

This book, this woman, this story of unconditional love, absolutely blew me away!

There is so much heart and emotion in this book that at times, I found myself laughing, smiling, crying, and there was a night, I had to stop reading and curled up in a ball on my bed and bawled my eyes out.

It wasn’t pity that reduced me to tears streaming uncontrollably down my face, it was wonder at the Love of Christ and how it has the redeeming power to bring anyone back from deviating so far off the path of life he/she is supposed to walk on. In some ways, I saw myself in Sarah.

She wrote something that brought me to my knees – literally. It read, “Some people learn worship by watching others. Others experience it by experiencing a struggle so great they have no other way to release the relentless shame, the terrifying fear or unbearable pain.” This excerpt is one that I can personally relate to on so many different levels. You see the Bible says that “God is spirit [the Source of life, yet invisible to mankind], and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth” – John 4:24 AMP and this excerpt from Lost and Found made me realize why I am all about worship. It is because I have been at place where the world did not have the solution and the only hope I had was God and it’s always been HIM. So, I am quick to lift my hands to Him in worship and supplication without inhibitions and just let the praise up.

Sarah Jakes Roberts also explored the complexities of her relationships and she noted something profound, “You cannot desire trust and sow betrayal.” As she described her tumultuous relationship, it made me wonder how many young women like herself and myself have validated and accepted “less,” because we refused to acknowledge how much Jesus has already provided. I remember rebuking myself as I recalled every time I let someone made me feel less or not deserving of the best. I was wrong, – to myself and to my Creator, because I let that happen.

Every time I accepted something that bruised me, but didn’t break me, I lost. – Sarah Jakes Roberts

There is so much in this book, and I do not want to share it all, because I think it is something you must read yourself and fully grasp and understand and make it yours.

What I will say is, Sarah’s story ends well! Very well actually, not by surprise to me anyway, because when Jesus is the author and the finisher of your faith, (Hebrews 12:2 KJV) your story can only have a great ending – upward and forward only.

As I prepare to bid you “Adieu,” I’d like to add a personal note here. When I picked up this book it was because I had just found myself broken and hurt and in need of finding clarity and my way. This book did so much for me. I am not where I am supposed to be yet, but this was a start and I am farther along in my journey now. So if you’re feeling down, dejected, alone, and lost, I want to assure you, that you are not alone and there is room at the Cross. God’s Grace is sufficient and it can do exceedingly, abundantly, much more than we could ever ask for or imagine.

So, as I wrap up here and hope to God that you go pick up this book, I’d like to leave you with one thing;

“Love should be used as a tool, not a weapon. Like a tool, love should be used to build something incredible, not to destroy fragile material.” – Sarah Jakes Roberts.

2 thoughts on “The Way…

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

just love them anyway

When All Else Fails.....Luke 6:27-28

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Sick and Sick of It

But Still Living The Life

Shawn L. Bird

Original poetry, commentary, and fiction. All copyrights reserved.

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

